How To... Use TracBack on Legacy Outdoor Handhelds

 

 GPS III+ and 12MAP Outdoor Handhelds

  1. Starting a Track Log

    The Track Log feature must be activated to record your path of movement. To activate the Track Log feature:

    1. Press MENU twice to open the main menu.
    2. Select Track Logs.
    3. Press MENU.
    4. Select Setup Logging.
    5. Select Record Mode.
    6. Select WRAP or FILL.


  2. Resetting Track and Trip Data

    It is best to reset the track and trip data at your starting point so your device knows the path you should follow back with TracBack. This also helps eliminate straight lines from your last known location to your current location (ie. from your home to the current trailhead).

    1. Press MENU twice to open the main menu.
    2. Select Track Logs.
    3. With the Active Log highlighted, press MENU.
    4. Select Clear Active Log.
    5. Press ENTER to delete the track log data.


  3. Saving the Current Track Log

    1. Press MENU twice to open the main menu.
    2. Select Track Logs.
    3. With the Active Log highlighted, press MENU.
    4. Select Save Active Log.

    • The track is now saved and appears in the Saved Logs list.


  4. Performing a TracBack
     
    1. Press MENU twice to open the main menu.
    2. Select Track Logs.
    3. Highlight the desired track log ('Active Log' or a 'Saved Log') and press MENU to open the options list.
    4. Select TracBack.

    • Once TracBack has been activated, the device will take the track log currently stored in memory and divide it into segments called 'legs'. Up to 30 temporary waypoints (e.g. 'T001') will be created to mark the most significant features of the track log in order to duplicate your exact path as closely as possible.
    • The Active Route page will appear, showing a route from your present position to the oldest track log point in memory. Steering guidance to each waypoint will be provided back to the starting point of your track log.
    • To exit a TracBack route, press MENU while viewing the Active Route page and select Deactivate.