Can't enter lat/long coordinates

Discussion related to the Garmin GPSMAP 66 series GPSr
ivhs72
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Mar 12, 2019 5:46 pm

Can't enter lat/long coordinates

Post by ivhs72 » Mon Apr 01, 2019 8:28 pm

I recently tried to enter lat/long coordinates into the 66s. When I select Enter Coordinates, it does not let me. It won't access that screen. The only way I have found to correct this is to delete all my stored waypoints. Then I can enter the page to enter coordinates. The first couple of times I tried deleting the waypoints, the device hung and I had to remove the batteries to reset it.

As a reference, I have a 66s (2.80 firmware) with City Navigator and the Garmin 100k Topo DVD on it.

gpsrchive
Site Admin
Posts: 430
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2017 11:29 pm

Re: Can't enter lat/long coordinates

Post by gpsrchive » Tue Apr 02, 2019 1:52 am

Are you marking a waypoint, or navigating to a destination, or....????

Please provide specific key presses and screens that you are moving through to experience this issue!

feraltek
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2019 11:30 am

Re: Can't enter lat/long coordinates

Post by feraltek » Tue Apr 02, 2019 5:00 am

On my lost eTrex I could go to the Waypoint Manager screen and create a waypoint by entering lat/long, select a symbol and give it a name. Can't do that on the 66S, or if it can be done I haven't yet discovered how to do it.

gpsrchive
Site Admin
Posts: 430
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2017 11:29 pm

Re: Can't enter lat/long coordinates

Post by gpsrchive » Tue Apr 02, 2019 1:47 pm

feraltek wrote:
Tue Apr 02, 2019 5:00 am
On my lost eTrex I could go to the Waypoint Manager screen and create a waypoint by entering lat/long, select a symbol and give it a name. Can't do that on the 66S, or if it can be done I haven't yet discovered how to do it.
Just press 'Mark' and edit away!

feraltek
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2019 11:30 am

Re: Can't enter lat/long coordinates

Post by feraltek » Tue Apr 02, 2019 8:22 pm

Didn't think of that because the cursor was sitting on "Save". I assumed that was the only choice. Instead, up arrow to whichever field I want to edit. I get lots of practice at asking dumb questions. Thanks.

gpsrchive
Site Admin
Posts: 430
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2017 11:29 pm

Re: Can't enter lat/long coordinates

Post by gpsrchive » Tue Apr 02, 2019 11:46 pm

feraltek wrote:
Tue Apr 02, 2019 8:22 pm
Didn't think of that because the cursor was sitting on "Save". I assumed that was the only choice. Instead, up arrow to whichever field I want to edit. I get lots of practice at asking dumb questions. Thanks.
No problem!

I'll get that added to the wiki some day!

Oh, wait, it already is!

See Pages > Mark

8^)

ivhs72
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Mar 12, 2019 5:46 pm

Re: Can't enter lat/long coordinates

Post by ivhs72 » Wed Apr 03, 2019 3:50 am

gpsrchive wrote:
Tue Apr 02, 2019 1:52 am
Are you marking a waypoint, or navigating to a destination, or....????

Please provide specific key presses and screens that you are moving through to experience this issue!
From any menu, I hit the Find Key. One of the selections on that page is Coordinates. On that page you are supposed to be able to enter the lat/long coordinates, and get a direction and distance. When I select it, nothing happens. Nothing will happened until I delete all the waypoints using waypoint manager. Then I can manually enter the lat/long of where I want to go.

gpsrchive
Site Admin
Posts: 430
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2017 11:29 pm

Re: Can't enter lat/long coordinates

Post by gpsrchive » Wed Apr 03, 2019 11:41 am

ivhs72 wrote:
Wed Apr 03, 2019 3:50 am
gpsrchive wrote:
Tue Apr 02, 2019 1:52 am
Are you marking a waypoint, or navigating to a destination, or....????

Please provide specific key presses and screens that you are moving through to experience this issue!
From any menu, I hit the Find Key. One of the selections on that page is Coordinates. On that page you are supposed to be able to enter the lat/long coordinates, and get a direction and distance. When I select it, nothing happens. Nothing will happened until I delete all the waypoints using waypoint manager. Then I can manually enter the lat/long of where I want to go.
I am unable top duplicate this.

How many waypoints do you have loaded on your GPSMAP 66?

Can you try using a different Profile and see if that resolves the issue?

ivhs72
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Mar 12, 2019 5:46 pm

Re: Can't enter lat/long coordinates

Post by ivhs72 » Thu Apr 04, 2019 10:50 pm

gpsrchive wrote:
Wed Apr 03, 2019 11:41 am
ivhs72 wrote:
Wed Apr 03, 2019 3:50 am
gpsrchive wrote:
Tue Apr 02, 2019 1:52 am
Are you marking a waypoint, or navigating to a destination, or....????

Please provide specific key presses and screens that you are moving through to experience this issue!
From any menu, I hit the Find Key. One of the selections on that page is Coordinates. On that page you are supposed to be able to enter the lat/long coordinates, and get a direction and distance. When I select it, nothing happens. Nothing will happened until I delete all the waypoints using waypoint manager. Then I can manually enter the lat/long of where I want to go.
I am unable top duplicate this.

How many waypoints do you have loaded on your GPSMAP 66?

Can you try using a different Profile and see if that resolves the issue?

The only waypoints I have on the device are the ones that are installed by geocaching pocket queries and the City Navigator. I have the map and the geocaches installed on a microSD card, and even with it removed, they waypoints still show up. The problem I'm having is it seems to lock up when I try deleting all waypoints.

I have tried in both the Hike and Geocache profiles (I've deleted the other profiles since I most likely will never use them).

gpsrchive
Site Admin
Posts: 430
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2017 11:29 pm

Re: Can't enter lat/long coordinates

Post by gpsrchive » Fri Apr 05, 2019 12:23 am

OK, well, removing all user data (files you installed) and performing a Master Reset then starting fresh may be the next logical step.

Post Reply