Elevation Plot Issues

Discussion related to the Garmin GPSMAP 67 series GPSr
Paul

Elevation Plot Issues

Unread post by Paul »

Hello everyone,
this is my first time posting here, and I'm hoping to get some help.
I recently switched from using a GPSMAP 62 to a GPSMAP 67. Before making the switch, I thoroughly researched the device and thought I knew all its pros and cons. However, it seems like I missed something important regarding the elevation plot feature.
I mainly use the GPS for mountain biking and hiking, relying heavily on downloaded tracks and frequently checking the elevation plot. Here are the issues I'm facing:

Issue #1: When I select the elevation plot and move along the track, my position on the elevation plot doesn't update in real-time. To see my current position, I have to navigate back and forth by hitting QUIT and then PAGE. My previous GPSMAP 62 always updated the current position on the elevation plot. Is there a method for the GPSMAP 67 to show the current position while moving?

Issue #2: While following a track, I noticed that the elevation profile of the distance traveled and the upcoming distance appears to be smoothed out on the GPSMAP 67
Spoiler
GPSMAP67_elevation_plot.jpg
compared to my old GPSMAP 62.
Spoiler
GPSMAP62_elevation_plot.jpg
I took screenshots from both devices and merged them into one image to highlight the difference.
Spoiler
plot_gpsmap67versus62.jpg
Can the upcoming elevation plot on the GPSMAP 67 be displayed in more detail, similar to how it was on the GPSMAP 62?

Issue #3: When viewing the elevation plot, I find the split-screen mode with the entire elevation profile on top and the zoom area below unnecessary. Is there a way to disable this split-screen mode?

Any help or insights into these issues would be greatly appreciated.
Thank you in advance
Paul
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
GPSrChive
Site Admin

Re: Elevation Plot Issues

Unread post by GPSrChive »