New to Oregon 750t - problems

Discussion related to the Garmin Oregon 7x0 series GPSr
pprass

New to Oregon 750t - problems

Unread post by pprass »

Hello everyone
I am new to the Oregon 750t, but a long time (18 yrs) user of Magellan GPSr's, so I operate a GPSr - but this 750t has got me perplexed and I am hoping someone can guide me through the issues I have.

First of all I mainly use the GPSr for Geocaching and have it set up in Classic Mode - Geocaching.

1. Compass accuracy.
Every time I load new caches into the unit and sometimes just when I switch on the unit, the compass is up to 180° out and I have to re-calibrate it.
I thought I found the reason why it was constantly out, because I had the unit set to "routing by road" and I think the compass pointed to the next turning point instead of the final location. However after turning off "routing" it still is out - for instance just now I pressed "Go" for a cache that is 81 kms north of where I live and while sitting on our balcony with excellent reception, the compass showed north pointing due east and out to sea :cry: (we live in an apartment block on the top floor facing north and just 100 metres from the ocean.)
Is this a fault, or is there a way of stopping this issue from happening. In comparison to the Magellan GPSr's that I have used over the years, I rarely had to re-calibrate the compass.

2. Navigating to a created WPt.