GPSr freezes when I stop navigating to a geocache.

Discussion related to the Garmin GPSMAP 66s/st GPSr
Mikkyp20
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2017 11:10 pm

GPSr freezes when I stop navigating to a geocache.

Post by Mikkyp20 »

I am using a 66s with FW 3.40. When I stop navigating to a geocache the unit freezes up and I need to remove the batteries to reboot the GPSr. This happens when the cache has not been logged and I want to navigate to another cache. This has been happening regularly, sometimes once a day.
User avatar
gpsrchive
Site Admin
Posts: 1224
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2017 11:29 pm

Re: GPSr freezes when I stop navigating to a geocache.

Post by gpsrchive »

A. How are the caches loaded to the device.

B. What is the exact sequence from power on to navigating to first cache to stopping navigation to device lockup.
Mikkyp20
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2017 11:10 pm

Re: GPSr freezes when I stop navigating to a geocache.

Post by Mikkyp20 »

A. How are the caches loaded to the device.

Geocaches loaded into GSAK using pocket queries from Geocaching.com web site. GSAK export macro to GPSr unit in GGZ format (usually approx. 4,000 caches loaded).


B. What is the exact sequence from power on to navigating to first cache to stopping navigation to device lockup.

The unit freezes usually after navigating to a geocache and navigation stopped, having not logged the cache. The last time it was the 2nd cache after having logged the 1st one as found. The sequence varies, but always after pressing the stop navigation button.
User avatar
gpsrchive
Site Admin
Posts: 1224
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2017 11:29 pm

Re: GPSr freezes when I stop navigating to a geocache.

Post by gpsrchive »

For clarification, are you pressing Where To? > Stop Navigation once you arrive at the previously navigated to geocache coordinates? Or is the GPSr stopping the navigation without input from you once you have arrived at the coordinates?
Mikkyp20
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2017 11:10 pm

Re: GPSr freezes when I stop navigating to a geocache.

Post by Mikkyp20 »

I am pressing Where To? > Stop Navigation after I arrive at the geocache coordinates, and do not want to log the cache.
Aleclerc
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2020 6:21 pm

Re: GPSr freezes when I stop navigating to a geocache.

Post by Aleclerc »

Hi all,
I have the same issue. Each time I select FIND -->WPT --> MAP and FIND --> STOP NAVIGATION my GPS freeze. I must pull off the battery and restart the GPS.
Do you have any info regarding this problem?
User avatar
gpsrchive
Site Admin
Posts: 1224
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2017 11:29 pm

Re: GPSr freezes when I stop navigating to a geocache.

Post by gpsrchive »

We are still unable to duplicate, but will continue trying to do so!
User avatar
gpsrchive
Site Admin
Posts: 1224
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2017 11:29 pm

Re: GPSr freezes when I stop navigating to a geocache.

Post by gpsrchive »

We have received so many reports of this behavior it has now been reported to Garmin and added to the GPSrChive > GPSMAP 66 > Common Issues page as Crash #9.

Please continue to report additional details here.
User avatar
gpsrchive
Site Admin
Posts: 1224
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2017 11:29 pm

Re: GPSr freezes when I stop navigating to a geocache.

Post by gpsrchive »

Aleclerc wrote: Fri Feb 14, 2020 6:58 am Hi all,
I have the same issue. Each time I select FIND -->WPT --> MAP and FIND --> STOP NAVIGATION my GPS freeze. I must pull off the battery and restart the GPS.
Do you have any info regarding this problem?
We need more information as we can not reproduce this. We need every key press in sequence from the time you power the device on until it crashes so we can duplicate and report.
asprin624
Posts: 57
Joined: Sun Dec 29, 2019 11:34 am

Re: GPSr freezes when I stop navigating to a geocache.

Post by asprin624 »

I have not had this problem with freezing.
But I do download all my geocaches directly to my laptop than check them on in MapSource.

Then I just copy them over to the 66s and use them.

When I get to a geocache I then pick the next one that is nearby and it takes me to that one.
Have never stopped anything.

It is no different using a Car GPS.
Once you have reached the location you picked the GPS does nothing it will keep showing you where you are even if you keep moving until you give it a new place to go.

Maybe the person has a bad downloaded geocache........
Post Reply