Compass not settling while stationary

Discussion related to the Garmin GPSMAP 66i GPSr
riogrande

Compass not settling while stationary

Unread post by riogrande »

Hi all,

I've been using my new 66i for about 3 months (coming from an Explorer+). Having a compass issue, and would like to know if anyone else is seeing the same problem I am. In short, when standing still after moving, the compass will take up to a minute (sometimes more) to settle and have the N arrow point the correct direction. The North arrow (or the map, depending on orientation setting) will swing wildly in all directions. The problem is immediately fixed after starting to move (walking, driving, etc), but often recurs after stopping. I estimate that about 60% of the time it takes between 5-60 seconds to settle, 30% it takes >1 minute, and 10% it settles right away.

For comparison, my Explorer+ never took any noticible time for the compass arrow to settle when stationary after moving. I think that this is a flaw, that the compass direction when becoming stationary should settle right away almost (or all) of the time. Whether it's a flaw just for my particular unit, or for others too, I don't yet know. I have an open ticket with Garmin and they are looking into it; it'd be useful to know if others are seeing similar compass behavior.

While investigating I have controlled for all of the following factors, observing that none of these have any effect on the problem.
- toggling Compass=>Auto to Off then On (fixes only temporarily, then recurs soon thereafter)
- Compass calibration
- Using default Profiles instead of my own customized ones
- Changing the North Reference setting
- Ensuring no magnets or magnetic fields while walking with the device
- Clear view of the horizon, and clear of vegetation
- Activities being recorded, or not (I don't use Tracking, i.e. sending points to mapshare)
- wifi active or not
- bluetooth active or not
- Sensors and GPS setting are set to default