Register Device for Geocaching

Discussion related to the Garmin GPSMAP 66 series GPSr
Post Reply
Mikkyp20
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2017 11:10 pm

Register Device for Geocaching

Post by Mikkyp20 » Mon Mar 11, 2019 8:24 pm

When I first got my GPSMAP 66s and set it up for geocaching the unit required that I REGISTER DEVICE. This would enable live geocaching.

I came from a GPSMAP 64s which did not have live Geocaching and load my geocaches from GSAK in the GGZ format. I found that there was no way to bypass this screen. Then I loaded the GPSr with some caches using GSAK and the screen went away. Every so often it comes back.

Is there a setting to turn this required screen off and not use live geocaching thus NOT registering the device.
There must be others out there not using the live geocaching feature. What do you do?

This occurs on the Oregon 7xx series too, and I have posted this on the O7xx forum which has not provide a solution to date.

Art
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Nov 10, 2018 9:14 am

Re: Register Device for Geocaching

Post by Art » Tue Mar 12, 2019 5:53 pm

I don’t know if this is related to your issue, or even deliberately done by Garmin,
but with firmware 2.10 I was able to copy the GGZ folder of preloaded geocaches that came with a 64st to the
same folder on a 66st, and they worked jus the same. They are now old geocaches I know, but I was just checking if it worked.
Since installing 2.50, the content of the GGZ folder hasn’t changed, but I now only see the registration screen.
It will give me a registration code to enter, but has never worked on the web. I just get a message like “please try later”.

ivhs72
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Mar 12, 2019 5:46 pm

Re: Register Device for Geocaching

Post by ivhs72 » Tue Mar 12, 2019 5:57 pm

There's thread over on the Geocaching forums about the 66s and it's problems with geocaching.

I've had a lot of issues with mine just loading regular geocaches. I worked with Garmin to the point that they are sending me a replacement 66s......

Art
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Nov 10, 2018 9:14 am

Re: Register Device for Geocaching

Post by Art » Sun Mar 17, 2019 8:06 am

A unit that they exchanged someone else probably :D
I can’t fathom them even thinking these things they swap units for are hardware issues.

Post Reply