Address search on GPSMAP66st fails

Discussion related to the Garmin GPSMAP 66 series GPSr
Post Reply
User avatar
RaoulBE
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2019 2:09 pm

Address search on GPSMAP66st fails

Post by RaoulBE » Sat Jan 26, 2019 2:13 pm

Hi all,

on my GPSMAP66st I want to do an address search using Find > Adresses > Search area > Enter State/Province. The selection displayed is now Germany / Poland / The Netherlands. The last one is correct as, I am living in The Netherlands. However, as all topo maps of Europe are on my GPSMAP66st, I would also expect to see all other European countries in the selection list (Belgium, France, etc.). Anyone else seen this issue with a possible solution?
--- Raoul from The Netherlands, Quest 1, DriveLuxe 51 LMTS, GPSMAP66st, MS, BC, OSM, CNv9, City Navigator, TopoActive, Topo NL, Topo BE, JaVaWa ---

Art
Posts: 41
Joined: Sat Nov 10, 2018 9:14 am

Re: Address search on GPSMAP66st fails

Post by Art » Sun Jan 27, 2019 5:31 am

I have a US Topo map, but only see Australia (which is where I am). Perhaps it has to do with your location, or what it can route to.
It does appear to be showing you what is closest.

User avatar
RaoulBE
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2019 2:09 pm

Re: Address search on GPSMAP66st fails

Post by RaoulBE » Sun Jan 27, 2019 7:57 am

Hi Art,

thanks for your reply! That was also my assumption at first, but in that case, I would expect that Belgium (which is 20 km away from my location) and France would be visible, instead of Poland (700 km's). Perhaps still one of the bugs of the current firmware?
--- Raoul from The Netherlands, Quest 1, DriveLuxe 51 LMTS, GPSMAP66st, MS, BC, OSM, CNv9, City Navigator, TopoActive, Topo NL, Topo BE, JaVaWa ---

Art
Posts: 41
Joined: Sat Nov 10, 2018 9:14 am

Re: Address search on GPSMAP66st fails

Post by Art » Sun Jan 27, 2019 1:28 pm

Sorry, I lead you astray a bit maybe. The USA map was turned off in the Configure Maps menu when I tried before.
As soon as I enabled it, there was an option for searching in that map as well. That’s only two though. Sorry I can’t try any more.

User avatar
RaoulBE
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2019 2:09 pm

Re: Address search on GPSMAP66st fails

Post by RaoulBE » Sun Jan 27, 2019 2:42 pm

I don't think that enabling or disabling the maps is the problem. My GPSMAP66st comes with 2 maps preloaded, both from Garmin: TopoActive Europe 2018.20 South West and TopoActive Europe 2018.20 North East, covering many European countries. As a another test, I have also disabled both maps, and the same countries (Netherlands, Germany, Poland) still appear in the search list. I expected that the search list would be empty, with no maps enabled.
--- Raoul from The Netherlands, Quest 1, DriveLuxe 51 LMTS, GPSMAP66st, MS, BC, OSM, CNv9, City Navigator, TopoActive, Topo NL, Topo BE, JaVaWa ---

gpsrchive
Site Admin
Posts: 511
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2017 11:29 pm

Re: Address search on GPSMAP66st fails

Post by gpsrchive » Sun Jan 27, 2019 5:02 pm

Disable GPS, Set current location in one of those other countries and see what options you are provided...

User avatar
RaoulBE
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2019 2:09 pm

Re: Address search on GPSMAP66st fails

Post by RaoulBE » Sun Jan 27, 2019 9:46 pm

Basic question: how do I change the current location with GPS disabled?
--- Raoul from The Netherlands, Quest 1, DriveLuxe 51 LMTS, GPSMAP66st, MS, BC, OSM, CNv9, City Navigator, TopoActive, Topo NL, Topo BE, JaVaWa ---

gpsrchive
Site Admin
Posts: 511
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2017 11:29 pm

Re: Address search on GPSMAP66st fails

Post by gpsrchive » Sun Jan 27, 2019 10:29 pm

Should be in the same Satellite Setup menu after you disable GPS.

User avatar
RaoulBE
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2019 2:09 pm

Re: Address search on GPSMAP66st fails

Post by RaoulBE » Fri Feb 01, 2019 3:27 pm

Hi,

I have set the current location (with GPS disabled) to another country, like France. Search options still remain Germany / Poland / The Netherlands.

What I also did: I downloaded routable maps for car navigation (Belgium, Netherlands, Germany) from garmin.openstreetmap.nl, merged them with JaVaWa OSM Combiner to one gmapsupp.img file and copied this file to the SD card of the GPSMAP66. I disabled these 2 OSM maps on the GPS map menu, and now the list of available countries was quite large, and not just Germany / Poland / The Netherlands / Belgium. BTW: as the OSM maps were disabled, I didn't expect that Belgium would be available at all. I can do an address search now in most of the countries, but I still have no clue what the logic is behind my observations.
--- Raoul from The Netherlands, Quest 1, DriveLuxe 51 LMTS, GPSMAP66st, MS, BC, OSM, CNv9, City Navigator, TopoActive, Topo NL, Topo BE, JaVaWa ---

Post Reply