It is time again to pay the hosting fees to keep GPSrChive available for 2021.

As you may have noticed, GPSrChive does not use subscription fees or annoying advertisements to pay the bills, and we want to keep it that way!

GPSrChive is purely a labor of love for those as passionate about their Garmin GPSr devices as we are.

For those who have donated in the past to help make GPSrChive possible, we are all very grateful!

We need your continued support!

Please support GPSrChive development and web hosting costs by clicking the donate button (located on all GPSrChive.com homepages) at any time.

Please consider making a recurring monthly donation of a dollar or two (or three...) to support continued GPSrChive development directly.

Direct Link: GPSrChive Donation.

Thank You,

GPSrChive

GPSMAP 66st + HRM Dual = No calories

Discussion related to the Garmin GPSMAP 66s/st GPSr
Post Reply
SFP
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2020 8:53 am

GPSMAP 66st + HRM Dual = No calories

Post by SFP »

I'm running 4.20 firmware on my GPSMAP 66st. For yet unknown reason the device has never calculated the calories when I use the HRM Dual heartbelt.

What are the symptoms:
- Calories stay zero in trip computer screen. Sometimes very very rarely there might be like 1 or 4 calories
- The total calories is now shown in Garmin Connect neither

What I've done:
- Removed and re-paired the HRM Dual
- Raised an issue through our local Garmin support

Calories are counted if I don't use the heartbelt. Seems that activity type doesn't have any affect. The heartrate is logged correctly to GPX-files.

Anyone else have the problem? Garmin support initial answer that this issues has been fixed in firmware 3.1
User avatar
gpsrchive
Site Admin
Posts: 1395
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2017 11:29 pm

Re: GPSMAP 66st + HRM Dual = No calories

Post by gpsrchive »

Is the HRM Dual paired to your GPSMAP 66 via ANT+ or BlueTooth?
SFP
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2020 8:53 am

Re: GPSMAP 66st + HRM Dual = No calories

Post by SFP »

During the first pairing I didn't take note on that. Second time I intentionally switched the bluetooth off on Garmin. I also made sure that my iphone didn't make connection to the belt.
User avatar
gpsrchive
Site Admin
Posts: 1395
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2017 11:29 pm

Re: GPSMAP 66st + HRM Dual = No calories

Post by gpsrchive »

OK, sounds like you were paired via ANT+ then.

A new GPSMAP 66s/st firmware will likely be released soon to resolve some issue with the last two releases... Can you retest again with that version and let us know what the result is?
SFP
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2020 8:53 am

Re: GPSMAP 66st + HRM Dual = No calories

Post by SFP »

I will test and I will let you know if I (ever) get response from official support.

Maybe I should have gone to Edge 1030 with my bicycle.
User avatar
gpsrchive
Site Admin
Posts: 1395
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2017 11:29 pm

Re: GPSMAP 66st + HRM Dual = No calories

Post by gpsrchive »

If bicycling is your primary use, you will find much more functionality with the Edge series - but they also lack some of the basic features and functions from the GPSMAP series.

It is very much a 'per user' decision.
SFP
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2020 8:53 am

Re: GPSMAP 66st + HRM Dual = No calories

Post by SFP »

I had GPSMAP 64st and 66st is also supposed to act as multipurpose. I'm happy but lack of some basic functionality is not so desirable.
AndyJ
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Oct 01, 2020 1:39 am

Re: GPSMAP 66st + HRM Dual = No calories

Post by AndyJ »

Did you find any solution to the issue? I was thinking of purchasing the HRM since I use my GPSMAP for a multitude of activities (hiking, biking, etc.), but if calories aren't tracked properly, then I won't. I was also pretty disappointed after purchasing the speed sensor to find that with the GPSMAP, the speed sensor data is not used to more accurately calculate distance traveled, as it is with the cycling focused models.
SFP
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2020 8:53 am

Re: GPSMAP 66st + HRM Dual = No calories

Post by SFP »

Not yet. It seems to be software problem in GPSMAP 66ST. I have still open case ongoing with Garmin.
Post Reply

Return to “GPSMAP 66s/st”