First Impression, First Bugs

Discussion related to the Garmin GPSMAP 66 GPSr
wwerner
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2018 2:10 pm

Re: First Impression, First Bugs

Post by wwerner » Thu Nov 08, 2018 8:12 am

Hi all

I finally got a new device. Everything works fine and stable now. I have no connection issues anymore with Mac/Garmin. Not sure what was wrong with the old device. Anyway Garmin and the show where I bought the device fixed this fast and without bureaucracy.

Regards
WWERNER

gpsrchive
Site Admin
Posts: 114
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2017 11:29 pm

Re: First Impression, First Bugs

Post by gpsrchive » Thu Nov 08, 2018 1:49 pm

Excellent, now you can concentrate on enjoying your new GPSMAP 66!

Art
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Nov 10, 2018 9:14 am

Re: First Impression, First Bugs

Post by Art » Sat Nov 10, 2018 9:18 am

Hi :) I don’t intend on reporting any of this to Garmin, so if anyone wants to, fine.

Enter the Recording menu, press left or right enough times to cycle through it’s options and return to the first,
press quit button twice to return to the map. The unit powers off, and you never quit the menu.

Try to navigate to a known address. Enough said.

gpsrchive
Site Admin
Posts: 114
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2017 11:29 pm

Re: First Impression, First Bugs

Post by gpsrchive » Sat Nov 10, 2018 9:48 am

Art wrote:
Sat Nov 10, 2018 9:18 am
Hi :) I don’t intend on reporting any of this to Garmin, so if anyone wants to, fine.

Enter the Recording menu, press left or right enough times to cycle through it’s options and return to the first,
press quit button twice to return to the map. The unit powers off, and you never quit the menu.

Try to navigate to a known address. Enough said.
Which firmware version is your MAP 66 running?

I am unable to duplicate your crash with either of my 66s or 66st, both running 2.10.

Art
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Nov 10, 2018 9:14 am

Re: First Impression, First Bugs

Post by Art » Sat Nov 10, 2018 9:56 am

As far as I’m aware, 2.10 is the only version. The unit is Australian, and it’s 66ST.

Have you tied to enter a known street near you to get it to calculate and start a route?

For the menu bug, it turns off for me every time. You have to press right enough times to be at the first option again,
which IIRC is five times.

Art
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Nov 10, 2018 9:14 am

Re: First Impression, First Bugs

Post by Art » Sat Nov 10, 2018 9:58 am

Can’t see my last post to be able to edit this in, but it also can’t handle the same amount of sat imagery tiles at the 64st can.
I have a large rectangle made of 245 tiles (32Gb). It sounds a lot probably, but the 64st goes fine with the same imagery data.
The 66st will power off whenever I zoom out far enough.

Art
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Nov 10, 2018 9:14 am

Re: First Impression, First Bugs

Post by Art » Sat Nov 10, 2018 10:04 am

Specifications section on this site specifically states the unit has a quad helix antenna.
Do you have a Garmin source to verify that?

gpsrchive
Site Admin
Posts: 114
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2017 11:29 pm

Re: First Impression, First Bugs

Post by gpsrchive » Sat Nov 10, 2018 10:20 am

Art wrote:
Sat Nov 10, 2018 9:56 am
As far as I’m aware, 2.10 is the only version. The unit is Australian, and it’s 66ST.

Have you tied to enter a known street near you to get it to calculate and start a route?

For the menu bug, it turns off for me every time. You have to press right enough times to be at the first option again,
which IIRC is five times.
Which routable maps are installed? Which maps are enabled?

You may need to try 'Setup > Reset > Reset All Settings' and let us know if the crash continues to occur.

Also, as outlined in the Common Issues > Error Reporting page, please send copies of the system files as requested to Garmin, as they contain specific crash data that can help them resolve the issue you are experiencing.

gpsrchive
Site Admin
Posts: 114
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2017 11:29 pm

Re: First Impression, First Bugs

Post by gpsrchive » Sat Nov 10, 2018 10:24 am

Art wrote:
Sat Nov 10, 2018 9:58 am
Can’t see my last post to be able to edit this in, but it also can’t handle the same amount of sat imagery tiles at the 64st can.
I have a large rectangle made of 245 tiles (32Gb). It sounds a lot probably, but the 64st goes fine with the same imagery data.
The 66st will power off whenever I zoom out far enough.

What is the original source for these JNX files? Are they Garmin BridsEye map tiles? If so, they are locked to a specific unit (likely the 64st you reference). Are you not seeing any 'Invalid BirdsEye Map' warnings?

Again, if the unit is crashing, you need to send the system files requested on the Common Issues page to Garmin so they can resolve your issues.

Art
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Nov 10, 2018 9:14 am

Re: First Impression, First Bugs

Post by Art » Sat Nov 10, 2018 10:29 am

The topo lite for Australia that came with it, and I also have the full version of the same on SD card.
Even without auto route map data, I use the find button to find the location, and if the map has node data for auto routing,
you’d be presented with a button to start a route, but the find address feature would have to work first.

Are you suggesting this works for you? I don’t suppose a lot of people would use this feature on a handheld. Have you tried?

Post Reply