Basecamp and Google Earth

Discussion related to Garmin BaseCamp software
Post Reply
dmb1319
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2017 4:07 am

Basecamp and Google Earth

Post by dmb1319 » Sat Mar 11, 2017 2:07 pm

Whatever it is that enables the Basecamp View in Google Earth menu option is broken. I know I have to reinstall either Basecamp or Google Earth. I can't remember which. If it's Basecamp, do I need to uninstall and reinstall or just reinstall? Can someone help and old guy out please?
Image
​​The only feeling better than needing something on the trail and having it, is having it and not needing it!
Ride prepared!

sussamb
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2017 11:28 am

Re: Basecamp and Google Earth

Post by sussamb » Sat Mar 11, 2017 10:11 pm

GE has been broken for a while in some setups, it's an issue with GE rather than BaseCamp. There is a workaround though:

From the Command Prompt type the following as applicable and press ENTER:
(Make sure you are in the C:\ root directory)

"C:\Program Files (x86)\Google\Google Earth Pro\client\googleearth.exe" /RegServer (works with Google Earth Pro in Win 7...10)

"C:\Program Files\Google\Google Earth Pro\client\googleearth.exe" /RegServer (Google Earth Pro in XP)

"C:\Program Files\Google\Google Earth\client\googleearth.exe" /RegServer (Google Earth in XP)

"C:\Program Files (x86)\Google\Google Earth\client\googleearth.exe" /RegServer (Google Earth non-Pro on Win 7, 8.x and 10)

Note for those not used to using the command line in Windows, the double quotes in all of the examples are critical. They MUST be there and in the indicated places or you'll get an error that the directory name is invalid. It won't harm anything; it simply won't work.

dmb1319
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2017 4:07 am

Re: Basecamp and Google Earth

Post by dmb1319 » Sat Mar 11, 2017 11:01 pm

I am very familiar with the command line, thanks. I used to run a free BBS that ran on batch files that were as long as from here to there! Ah, the good ol' days.

Now, I am IMpressed. I used:
"C:\Program Files (x86)\Google\Google Earth\client\googleearth.exe" /RegServer
because I was underimpressed with GE Pro, and do Win7 x64 Pro

Ran it from a C:| prompt, opened basecamp and am viewing a track in GE as it should work.
Awesome!
Closed GE and BC. Restarted them and did it again. Works great. So this is not a one-session work around, it cured it. No reinstalls? I'll put it in a batch file in case I ever need it again.
THANK you!
Image
Image
​​The only feeling better than needing something on the trail and having it, is having it and not needing it!
Ride prepared!

dmb1319
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2017 4:07 am

Re: Basecamp and Google Earth

Post by dmb1319 » Mon Feb 05, 2018 5:42 pm

Well, it's google. I don't know why I should expect things to remain unchanged.

Last night when I tried to run GEP, it wasn't there! I went VFR direct to:
C:\Program Files (x86)\Google\Google Earth Pro\client
and the only thing there is a debug.log
I found the same at:
C:\Program Files (x86)\Google\Google Earth\client

So I went back to google and re-downloaded GEP and reinstalled it. It turned up here:
C:\Program Files\Google\Google Earth Pro\client\googleearth.exe

The LAST time I "fixed" google it was at
C:\Program Files (x86)\Google\Google Earth Pro\client
and
"C:\Program Files (x86)\Google\Google Earth\client\googleearth.exe" /RegServer
fixed the problem. I could use the View in Google Earth option in Basecamp.
Since that is a registry edit, I am a little squeamish about just removing the (x86) and trying it.

Can anyone tell me if that would be safe, and, of course, will it correct the problem again?
Win 7 x64 pro BTW.
Image
​​The only feeling better than needing something on the trail and having it, is having it and not needing it!
Ride prepared!

sussamb
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2017 11:28 am

Re: Basecamp and Google Earth

Post by sussamb » Tue Feb 06, 2018 6:41 am

That should be fine, GE it seems is changing where it puts stuff.

dmb1319
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2017 4:07 am

Re: Basecamp and Google Earth

Post by dmb1319 » Wed Feb 07, 2018 6:38 am

This one worked:

"C:\Program Files\Google\Google Earth Pro\client\googleearth.exe" /RegServer

Note the addition of Pro in the path because Google Earth is now Pro only.
Fired up BC and tried viewing a track in GEP and it worked fine.

What does that actually DO? Just add the Google Earth client directory to the path for the OS - like "SET PATH="? I thought so but when I checked the path it's not there....

THANK you!
Image
​​The only feeling better than needing something on the trail and having it, is having it and not needing it!
Ride prepared!

Post Reply